Brand Day: Mojo Sandals is a proud Philippine lifestyle brand

Mojo-triangle

I’m feeling patriotic today and so I’m making this entry about a lifestyle brand which I first encountered in La Union way back in 2006. I arrived in LU then with leather shoes on and I knew I needed to get myself a pair of slippers for my 4-day stay.

I was checking on at Angel and Marie’s merchandise corner and found slippers packed in plastic. Oblivious of the brand, I bought it anyway. Turned out it was a good buy. The rubber felt good on the soles. I read the label and was surprised to learn that the product was all-Filipino made. Since then, I tried to make sure that I get a Mojo for slippers/sandals.

Img-4842Img-4813Img-4830Img-4831Img-1671

I just bought a pair last month here in Boracay. I think my fifth since 2006 (I was always on shoes so I don’t get to replace every so often).

A brief history of this amazing brand, according to its website, goes like, a certain Jose has the passion for life in the outdoors. Jose founded the brand. “The designs carried the label MOJO. MOJO stood for flow, vibe, love and passion when it first came out in 1991.”

Reading on their Advocacy page, I felt proud of my choice. The page reads:

Our Products are 99% Filipino

Our rubber is harvested from choice rubber tree grown in the highlands of Bukidnon in the island of Mindanao

The Rubber is processes locally and sent to the shoe factories in Antipolo and Marikina, in the east side of Metro Manila.

Finished products are distributed and sold by Outward Bound Gear Inc., the Filipino company that exclusively distributes MOJO sandals to you.

MOJO actively promotes local travel and tourism, for you to go out and see the beauty of the Philippines, in the comfort of slippers and sandals that won’t let you down.

Your Purchase of MOJO Slippers and Sandals will contribute to the economy of the Philippines every step of the way, from the rubber tree growers to your checking at the best beaches and mountain resort in this part of the world.

Made with rubber from Mindanao and assembled in Antipolo and Marikina. Very close to home! 

*When in Boracay, you may get your pair of Mojo Sandals at Bom-Bom Bar in Station 2.

2 responses to “Brand Day: Mojo Sandals is a proud Philippine lifestyle brand

Leave a comment